Concentra Award Nominees


The nominations for this year’s Concentra Award for outstanding video journalism, sponsored by Avid, have been announced.

The nominated entries can be viewed at

“The subject matter and quality of this year’s entries are a clear indication that video journalism is rapidly emerging as an increasingly important and valuable newsgathering tool for the world’s leading news organizations” Michael Rosenblum, Chairman of the Jury

The competition received 97 entries from VJs in 23 countries from around the world. These Concentra Award entries were also considered for a special breaking news prize for VJ news pieces that have been shot, edited and broadcast within 24 hours.

The initial round of judging created a long list of 17 entries, 5 of which could also qualify for the breaking news prize. The second round of judging produced the short list of 7 nominated pieces 2 of which are considered as breaking news. Final judging of the 7 nominated entries will take place on March 2nd in Brussels.

The Concentra Award 2008 and the breaking news prize will be presented at a ceremony at the Brussels Marriott Hotel on March 3rd, as part of the Digital News Affairs Conference ().

Nominations for the Concentra Award 2008, sponsored by Avid

Afghan Heroin Addicts – Claire Billet – France 24, France
Crisis in Darfour Expands – Travis Fox – The Washington Post, USA
Demonstration Supporters of KSK Beveren – Stavros Van Halewijck, Belgium – TV Oost
Foot Patrol Taliban – Raul Gallego Abellan – Associated Press USA
Morning Tears – Miranda Gijsen, Belgium – TV Limburg
Myanmar Crackdown – Tony Birtley UK – Al Jazeera International
The Nightwatch – Idar Eduin Krogstad Norway – NRK

The jury for the 2008 award

Host: Willy Lenaers (CEO, Concentra, Belgium)
Chairman: Michael Rosenblum (CEO, Rosenblum TV, USA)
Sue Phillips (London Bureau Chief, Al Jazeera, UK)
Cristian Trippe (Brussels Bureau Chief, Deutsche Welle, Germany)
Bas Broekhuizen (Editor, Volkskrant TV, Netherlands)
Tone Kunst (Editor in Chief, NRK Nordland, Norway)
Vicente Partal, (Board Member, ECJ, Director, Vilaweb, Spain)
Leif Hedman (Director, SVT, Sweden)

The Concentra Award, sponsored by Avid

Established in 2004, the Concentra Award for outstanding video journalism is the world’s leading annual VJ prize. The award aims to highlight and promote video journalism with the aim of encouraging journalists to film and edit their own work. The award, which this year is sponsored by Avid, comes with 10.000 euro in prize money.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s